Entertainment News
The No. 1 Source For Breaking Music, Film, and TV Headlines

Neil Young blends live and field recordings for new album EARTH

on April 28, 2016, 1:10pm

Neil Young has announced a new live album — but it’s not your typical concert LP. Entitled EARTH, the release mixes recordings from the icon’s recent tour with The Promise of the Real with additional musical overdubs and field recordings of sounds like “car horns, sounds of insects… bears, birds, crickets, bees, horses, [and] cows.”

“Ninety-eight uninterrupted minutes long, EARTH flows as a collection of 13 songs from throughout my life, songs I have written about living here on our planet together,” Young explained in a press release. “Our animal kingdom is well represented in the audience as well, and the animals, insects, birds, and mammals actually take over the performances of the songs at times.”

Due out June 17th via Reprise Records, the album features tracks taken from last year’s The Monsanto Years, 1994’s Sleeps With Angels, 1990’s Ragged Glory, 1986’s Landing on Water, 1974’s On the Beach, and the 1970 classic After the Gold Rush. It also includes the previously unreleased song “I Won’t Quit”.

Young will preview the album during a First Fridays event at the Natural History Museum of Los Angeles County on May 6th. The public listening party, a first for Young, will be presented in his own Pono high definition fidelity audio format, preceded by an introduction from the folk rocker himself. Tickets and more info can be found at the First Fridays website.

Find the EARTH album art and tracklist below.

EARTH Album Artwork:

unnamed (2)

EARTH Tracklist:
01. People Want to Hear About Love (from The Monsanto Years)
02. Big Box (from The Monsanto Years)
03. Mother Earth (from Ragged Glory)
04. The Monsanto Years (from The Monsanto Years)
05. I Won’t Quit (previously unreleased)
06. Western Hero (from Sleeps With Angels)
07. Vampire Blues (from On The Beach)
08. Hippie Dream (from Landing On Water)
09. After The Gold Rush (from After The Gold Rush)
10. Wolf Moon (from The Monsanto Years)
11. Love & Only Love (from Ragged Glory)

In addition to EARTH, Young has announced the first-ever DVD and Blu-ray release of two films: the post-apocalyptic musical comedy Human Highway and the concert film Rust Never Sleeps. Originally released in 1982, Human Highway stars Russ Tamblyn, Charlotte Stewart, Dean Stockwell, Dennis Hopper, and Devo. Rust Never Sleep, meanwhile, featurs performances of “I Am a Child”, “Cinnamon Girl”, “Like a Hurricane”, and “Hey Hey, My My” in both acoustic and electric forms. Both are available for pre-order through Young’s official store or Amazon.

Below, watch the trailer for Human Highway and footage of Young and The Promise of the Real debuting “I Won’t Quit” live at Farm Aid 30.

Human Highway Trailer:

“I Won’t Quit”: