New Music Releases
The Best New Music in Rock, Alternative, Hip-Hop, and More
Expertly Curated by the CoS Staff

James Blake’s new album The Colour in Anything is being released tonight

on May 05, 2016, 2:57pm

Photo by Debi Del Grande

James Blake appeared on Annie Mac’s BBC Radio 1 show this afternoon and came bearing some very exciting news. His brand new album, now titled The Colour in Anything, will be released in full tonight at approximately 6:00 p.m. CT. Update: Stream/download the album here.

Additionally, he premiered a pair of new songs, “Radio Silence” and “I Need a Forest Fire” featuring Bon Iver’s Justin Vernon. Of the former, Blake said it was the first written for the record and originally was supposed to be the title track. Atmospheric at every turn, it’s highlighted by layers of morose piano, growling bass, and bouts of surging synths. “I can’t believe this, you don’t want to see me,” he can be heard lamenting. This cavernous melancholy continues to permeate throughout “I Need a Forest Fire”, with Vernon’s unmistakeable vocals ringing out like a siren.

Stream both below. Update: He’s released a third track called “My Willing Heart” and revealed the full tracklist.

The Colour in Anything Tracklist:
01. Radio Silence
02. Points
03. Love Me in Whatever Way
04. Timeless
05. F.O.R.E.V.E.R.
06. Put That Away and Talk to Me
07. I Hope My Life (1-800 Mix)
08. Waves Know Shores
09. Choose Me
10. I Need a Forest Fire (feat. Justin Vernon)
11. Noise Above Our Heads
12. The Colour in Anything
13. My Willing Heart
14. Two Men Down
15. Modern Soul
16. Always
17. Meet You in the Maze

Elsewhere in the episode, Blake confirmed that those new murals by Roald Dahl illustrator Sir Quentin Blake (seen below) are indeed the artwork for the LP. The UK crooner also noted that renowned producer Rick Rubin helped him during the recording sessions.