Album Streams
Listen to Full Streams of the Newest Albums
Expertly Curated by the CoS Staff

Stream: White Lung’s new album Paradise

on May 06, 2016, 4:45pm

Today, White Lung release their new album, Paradise, via Domino Records. Spotify users can stream it in full below. It’s also available over on Apple Music.

The 10-track effort was recorded last October in Los Angeles with the help of producer Lars Stalfors (HEALTH, Cold War Kids). It serves as the Canadian punk outfit’s fourth full-length overall following 2014’s acclaimed Deep Fantasy. Early singles “Hungry”, “Kiss Me When I Bleed”, and “Below” were released in anticipation of the LP.

White Lung consider the project “the best songwriting we’ve ever done.” In an in-depth Q&A with St. Vincent’s Annie Clark, the band’s Mish Barber-Way explained what she wanted to convey through the record and the process of putting it all together:

“I am content in my life, which is really bad for writing songs. I’m not newly heartbroken or falling in love or struggling, so my dopamine is down along with my creativity. I’m married, content and happy. I make fine money. I like what I do for a living. I’m all serotonin. So, I wrote half of this album outside myself and from characters. Two songs are written from the voice of famous serial killers. Another song is two people fighting. This album is schizophrenic. I took from books, stereotypical love fables and turned them. I wrote songs based on news stories I felt deserved more attention. This album is not really about me.

“This record is a collection of other people’s stories I wanted to retell … There isn’t a lot of anger on this album. It’s colorful, bright, cotton candy, oversaturated, neon signs and glitter … just paradise.”

In his glowing review of the album, Dusty Henry writes, “If previous releases hinted at them being one-note, this album torches that notion. Paradise is White Lung pushing their limits and coming out bloodied, hungry for more. It’s a record full of disease, doubt, dumpsters, and death, with the band rising above it all and reveling in their filth. Damn anyone who tries to get in their way.”

Purchase the album here.

Paradise Tracklist:
01. Dead Weight
02. Narcoleptic
03. Below
04. Kiss Me When I Bleed
05. Demented
06. Sister
07. Hungry
08. I Beg You
09. Vegas
10. Paradise

No comments