New Music
The Best New Music in Rock, Alternative, Hip-Hop, and More
Expertly Curated by the CoS Staff

Wavves offshoot Spirit Club announce Slouch LP, share “Fast Ice” — listen

on August 25, 2016, 2:40pm

Spirit Club — the lo-fi pop side-project of Nathan Williams (Wavves, Sweet Valley), Kynan Williams (Sweet Valley), and Andrew Caddick (Jeans Wilder) — teased a new album with the July release of “Room to Run”. Today, they’ve officially announced an October 21st release date for their sophomore LP, Slouch, coming via Nathan Williams’ own Ghost Ramp Records.

The 12-track effort was recorded at Los Angeles’ DTLA Recording alongside producer Dennis Herring. The project reunites Williams and Herring on an album for the first time since Wavves’ 2010 King of the Beach. 

A press release notes the follow-up to Spirit Club’s self-titled debut took inspiration “from The Beach Boys and vocal groups such as The Flamingos and The Cadillacs.” That means sunny harmonies and surf-y vibes, but coupled with “darker lyrical concerns of heartbreak and loneliness.” It’s a description that well fits the album’s new single, “Fast Ice”. It’s a track layered with warm layers of “ooh ahh”s and breezy-yet-crunchy instrumentation, a comfortable sensation that’s at variance with the hook: “I hope you miss me every night/ I hope you miss me tonight.”

Take a listen below (via Nerdist).

Slouch Album Artwork:

unnamed (2)

Slouch Tracklist:
01. Fast Ice Intro
02. Fast Ice
03. Your Eyes Tell Lies
04. Metal Dream
05. Room to Run
06. That’s My Curse
07. Broken Link
08. Lately I Haven’t Been Sleeping
09. Needful Things
10. Nearly As Much As You
11. I’m In Heaven
12. You’re So Mean

No comments