New Music
The Best New Music in Rock, Alternative, Hip-Hop, and More
Expertly Curated by the CoS Staff

Norah Jones previews new album with the jazzy “Flipside” — listen

on September 09, 2016, 5:41pm

Day Breaks is the forthcoming album from Norah Jones, her first since 2012’s Little Broken Hearts. Over the course of 12 tracks, some of which are covers of Neil Young and Duke Ellington, the singer-songwriter revisits her piano and jazz beginnings.

“This new album feels full circle because I’m going back to my early influences,” Jones said in a press release. “After the first record, I drifted away from the piano a little bit. I still played it, but was more inspired to write on guitar. I really loved playing piano on this record.”

Ahead of the LP’s October 7th release via Blue Note, Jones has broken off the second single, an original titled “Flipside”. Here, she can be heard singing over a jazzy but tight tickling of the ivories, her voice during the verses calm and collected. The chorus offers Jones a little more room to stretch her legs, and she does so — launching into a more soulful burst accompanied by the warm howl of an organ.

Stream it below.

For more of Day Breaks, check out “Carry On”; Jones will support the new record with one of the most anticipated fall tours of the year.

Day Breaks Tracklist:
01. Burn
02. Tragedy
03. Flipside
04. It’s A Wonderful Time For Love
05. And Then There Was You
06. Don’t Be Denied
7. Day Breaks
08. Peace
09. Once I Had A Laugh
10. Sleeping Wild
11. Carry On
12. Fleurette Africaine (African Flower)

No comments