Album Streams
Listen to Full Streams of the Newest Albums
Expertly Curated by the CoS Staff

Stream: M.I.A.’s new (possibly final?) album AIM

on September 09, 2016, 12:10am

Today brings the release of AIM, the fifth and possibly final album from M.I.A.

AIM serves as the follow-up to 2013’s Matangi. It contains 12 tracks (17 on the deluxe edition) and features contributions from A-lister producers including Skrillex and Hit-Boy, along with former One Direction member Zayn Malik who sings on “Freedun”. The album also reunites M.I.A. with her former collaborator and one-time boyfriend, Diplo, after six years.

In a new interview with Consequence of Sound, M.I.A. explained that AIM was an album made with “nobody around.” She continued, “I had no label people or management people … it was just me. I had one person on my team, I got myself a PA who made it possible for me to actually fly to different places to keep the recording process going. And then I hired a nanny. So I really just had a PA and a nanny and I made a whole album. And then on the last day when we finished recording, that’s when I hired a manager, I was like, ‘Look, here’s the album, now I’m leaving.'”

On whether AIM will be her final album, M.I.A. responded, “To make an album is cool, but after that I have to go off and make something else that’s difficult and challenging for me because… I dunno, reading the Guardian review is actually the perfect example. They’re like, ‘Ah well, she’s missed the boat, she’s not making an album for the club, it’s not for the bedroom.’ It’s like, well, those are not the two only places that people exist in, you represent so many people, you have to stay a bit more rounded than a two-dimensional album. I think that’s why I want to go off and explore certain themes in other mediums. I dunno what that is yet, but I just want to do that. It’s exciting trying to make other things as well.”

Stream AIM in full via Apple Music or Spotify, and read our full interview with M.I.A. here.

AIM Tracklist:
01. Borders
02. Go Off (prod. Skrillex)
03. Bird Song (prod. Blaqstarr)
04. Jump In
05. Freedun (feat. Zayn Malik)
06. Foreign Friend (feat. Delta Daps)
07. Finally
08. A.M.P (All My People)
09. Ali R U OK?
10. VISA
11. Fly Pirate
12. Survivor *
13. Bird Song (prod. by Diplo) *
14. The New International Sounds Pt. 2 *
15. Swords (prod. Hit-Boy) *
16. Talk *
17. Platforms *

* = Bonus track