The No. 1 Source For Breaking Music and Film Headlines

Prince’s Purple Rain to be reissued with unreleased music, due out early 2017

on October 21, 2016, 12:50pm

Prince’s record label NPG in conjunction with Warner Bros. has announced a pair of posthomous releases, including an expanded reissue of the musician’s seminal Purple Rain.

Organized by Prince prior to his passing, the reissue includes a remastered version of the original album in addition to a second disc collecting previously unreleased material. A release date is set for early 2017.

Prior to that, however, NPR and Warner Bros. will release a new greatest hits collection. Due out November 22nd in the US, Prince 4Ever compiles 40 tracks, including a previously unreleased song entitled “Moonbeam Leavels”. The song was originally recorded in 1982 during the sessions for 1999 and was later considered for the as-yet-unreleased album Rave Unto The Joy Fantastic.

Prince 4Ever also includes a 12-page booklet of never-before-seen photos by acclaimed photographer Herb Ritts.

Prince 4Ever Tracklist:
01. 1999
02. Little Red Corvette
03. When Doves Cry
04. Let’s Go Crazy
05. Raspberry Beret
06. I Wanna Be Your Lover
07. Soft and Wet
08. Why You Wanna Treat Me So Bad
09. Uptown
10. When You Were Mine
11. Head
12. Gotta Stop (Messin’ About)
13. Controversy
14. Let’s Work
15. Delirious
16. I Would Die 4 U
17. Take Me With U
18. Paisley Park
19. Pop Life
20. Purple Rain
21. Kiss
22. Sign ‘O’ The Times
23. Alphabet Street
24. Batdance
25. Thieves In The Temple
26. Cream
27. Mountains
28. Girls & Boys
29. If I Was Your Girlfriend
30. U Got The Look
31. I Could Never Take The Place of Your Man
32. Glam Slam
33. Moonbeam Levels
34. Diamonds and Pearls
35. Gett Off
36. Sexy MF
37. My Name Is Prince
38. 7
39. Peach
40. Nothing Compares 2 U

Watch our Masterpiece Reviews episode on Purple Rain:

No comments