The No. 1 Source For Breaking Music, Film, and TV Headlines

Rock ‘n’ Roll Hall of Fame 2017 nominees: Pearl Jam, Kraftwerk, Tupac

on October 18, 2016, 8:55am


The Rock and Roll Hall of Fame has revealed the final nominees for its class of 2017. They include Pearl Jam, Kraftwerk, Depeche Mode, Tupac Shakur, Janet Jackson, Journey, and Bad Brains.

Other finalists include Electric Light Orchestra, Chic, Chaka Khan, The Cars, Jane’s Addiction, Joan Baez, MC5, Yes, The Zombies, J. Gelis Band, and Steppenwolf.

The top five vote-getters, as determined by a group of artists, historians, and music industry members, will be announced in December. They will then be inducted into the Rock and Roll Hall of Fame during a ceremony held in April 2017 at the Barclays Center in Brooklyn.

For the first time in 2017, the Hall of Fame will honor specific members of each band as opposed to the full lineup. Thus, of the five drummers who’ve played with Pearl Jam, only current drummer Matt Cameron and founding member Dave Krusen are eligible for induction. The eligible members of ELO include Jeff Lynne, Roy Wood, Bev Bevan and Richard Tandy, while the classic Steve Perry lineup of Journey is nominated alongside founding keyboardist/singer Gregg Rolie.

In order for an artist to be eligible for the Hall of Fame, their first recording must have been released at least 25 years ago. Among the eligible acts who failed to receive a nomination for 2017: The Smiths, Nine Inch Nails, The Cure, Blur, Smashing Pumpkins, PJ Harvey, Soundgarden, Hole, Tom Petty (solo), Bon Jovi, Mariah Carey, Sting, Kylie Minogue, Tracy Chapman, Alice in Chains, Phish, The Meters, Warren Zevon, Los Lobos, Jethro Tull, The Moody Blues, De La Soul, and Sinead O’Connor.