Entertainment News
The No. 1 Source For Breaking Music, Film, and TV Headlines

Soundgarden announce deluxe reissue of Badmotorfinger for 25th anniversary

on October 07, 2016, 11:09am

Soundgarden’s third album, Badmotorfinger, turns 25 this year, and the band has announced four different anniversary reissues to celebrate. Coming on November 18th from UMe/A&M Records, the highlight of these releases is a limited seven-disc Super Deluxe Edition featuring a total of 79 previously unreleased tracks, videos, and mixes.

Spread across four CDs, two DVDs, and a Blu-ray Audio disc, the Badmotorfinger Super Deluxe version consists of 109 tracks in total. There’s a newly remastered version of the original album, along with a disc of 15 never before heard studio outtakes mixed fresh from the original analog multi-tracks. That second CD also features the version of “New Damage” with Queen’s Brian May. The package also boasts Live at the Paramount, the band’s first-ever complete concert album. The live recording comes from a March 6th, 1992 gig at Seattle’s Paramount Theatre.

That performance is also included on one of the DVDs, making Live at the Paramount Soundgraden’s first-ever complete concert video as well. It comprises a 19-song performance newly edited from the original camera masters along with 5.1 surround sound and stereo mixed from the original analog multi-tracks. The other DVD features the 1992 video album Motorvision, available on DVD for the first time. In addition, the disc includes music videos for “Jesus Christ Pose”, “Outshined”, and “Rusty Cage” alongside 11 select live performances from throughout 1992 and interviews with the band and friends.

The final piece of the massive reissue is a Blu-ray Audio disc containing the entire Badmotorfinger album, a trio of B-sides, and three music videos. The audio portions feature new visuals directed by Josh Graham.

All of this comes housed in a collector’s box that has a battery-operated Badmotorfinger icon on the front — and batteries are included. There’s also a 52-page book with new art, unreleased images, and “commemorative testimonials from fellow musicians and peers.” Also inside is a 12×12-inch Badmotorfinger silver foil 3D lentiular, four 8×10-inch photo cards with each band member, two stickers, and a 25th anniversary Badmotorfinger iron-on patch. What’s more, if you’re one of the first 1,000 people to pre-order through Soundgardenworld.com, us.udiscovermusic.com, or udiscovermusic.com, you’ll get an exclusive 7-inch of “Jesus Christ Pose” b/w “Stray Cat Blues” and a custom Badmotorfinger icon 7-inch large hole adapter.

And exhale. You got all that? If you’re into something simpler, there’s also a two-CD Deluxe Edition with the entire album plus selections from the Super Deluxe Edition’s bonus material or a single-CD remaster housed in a gatefold softpak that converts the original six-panel folder design. The last option is a double-LP with a 3D lenticular silver foil litho cover that can be removed to reveal a gold foil jacket cover; side four of the vinyl also features a 25th anniversary etching. The first 1,000 who pre-order via Soundgardenworld.com, us.udiscovermusic.com, or udiscovermusic.com can get it in metallic silver vinyl instead of the standard black.

All pre-orders are going on now ahead of the November 18th release. Find the packaging complete track listings for the Super Deluxe configuration below.

Badmotorfinger Super Deluxe Edition Packaging:

unnamed 2 Soundgarden announce deluxe reissue of Badmotorfinger for 25th anniversary

Badmotorfinger Super Deluxe Edition Tracklist:
CD 1 – Original Album Remastered
01. Rusty Cage
02. Outshined
03. Slaves & Bulldozers
04. Jesus Christ Pose
05. Face Pollution
06. Somewhere
07. Searching With My Good Eye Closed
08. Room A Thousand Years Wide
09. Mind Riot
10. Drawing Flies
11. Holy Water
12. New Damage

CD 2 – Studio Outtakes – * = Previously Unreleased
01. Rusty Cage (Studio Outtake)*
02. Outshined (Studio Outtake)*
03. Slaves & Bulldozers (Studio Outtake)*
04. Jesus Christ Pose (Studio Outtake)*
05. Face Pollution (Studio Outtake) *
06. Somewhere (Studio Outtake)*
07. Searching With My Good Eye Closed (Studio Outtake)*
08. Room A Thousand Years Wide (Studio Outtake)*
09. Drawing Flies (Studio Outtake)*
10. Holy Water (Studio Outtake)*
11. Cold Bitch (Studio Outtake)*
12.She’s A Politician (Studio Outtake)*
13. Black Rain (Studio Outtake)*
14. Birth Ritual (Studio Outtake)*
15. Blind Dogs (Studio Outtake)*
16. New Damage (with Brian May)

CD 3 – Live At The Paramount (Part 1)
01. Searching With My Good Eye Closed
02. Hands All Over
03. Drawing Flies
04. Room A Thousand Years Wide
05. Gun
06. Flower
07. Little Joe
08. Big Dumb Sex
09. Face Pollution
10. Incessant Mace
11. Rusty Cage

CD 4 – Live At The Paramount (Part 2)
01. Outshined
02. Mind Riot
03. Beyond The Wheel
04. Into The Void (Sealth)
05. Jesus Christ Pose
06. Hunted Down
07. Somewhere
08. Slaves & Bulldozers

Disc 5 – Live At The Paramount DVD
01. Searching With My Good Eye Closed
02. Hands All Over
03. Drawing Flies
04. Room A Thousand Years Wide
05. Gun
06. Flower
07. Little Joe
08. Big Dumb Sex
09. Face Pollution
10. Incessant Mace
11. Rusty Cage
12. Outshined
13. Mind Riot
14. Beyond The Wheel
15. Into The Void (Sealth)
16. Jesus Christ Pose
17. Hunted Down
18. Somewhere
19. Slaves & Bulldozers

Disc 6 – Motorvision + More DVD
1.Searching With My Good Eye Closed
2.Rusty Cage
4.Little Joe
5.Mind Riot
6.Room A Thousand Years Wide
7.Jesus Christ Pose
8.Slaves & Bulldozers

Bonus Videos – * = Previously Unreleased
01. Outshined (Live in Dallas 4.29.92)*
02. Jesus Christ Pose (Live in Dallas 4.29.92)*
03. Rusty Cage (Live at Roseland Ballroom 5.09.92)*
04. Jesus Christ Pose (Live at Pinkpop Festival 7.08.92)*
05. Slaves & Bulldozers (Live at Pinkpop Festival 7.08.92)*
06. Slaves & Bulldozers (Live in Seattle 7.12.92)*
07. Face Pollution (Live in Seattle 7.12.92)*
08. Searching With My Good Eye Closed (Live in Seattle 7.22.92)*
09. Drawing Flies (Live in Miami 8.22.92)*
10. Cop Killer (Live in Miami 8.22.92)*
11. Room A Thousand Years Wide (Live in Miami 8.22.92)*
12. Jesus Christ Pose (Music Video)
13. Outshined (Music Video)
14. Rusty Cage (Music Video)

Disc 7 – Blu-Ray Audio 5.1 Surround Sound & Remastered Stereo – *= Previously Released
01. Rusty Cage*
02. Outshined*
03. Slaves & Bulldozers*
04. Jesus Christ Pose*
05. Face Pollution*
06. Somewhere*
07. Searching With My Good Eye Closed*
08. Room A Thousand Years Wide*
09. Mind Riot*
10. Drawing Flies*
11. Holy Water*
12. New Damage*
13. B-Sides
14. Cold Bitch*
15. She’s A Politician*
16. Birth Ritual*

Bonus Videos
16. Jesus Christ Pose (Music Video)
17. Outshined (Music Video)
18. Rusty Cage (Music Video)

Take a listen to the studio outtake version of “Rusty Cage” that was revealed yesterday.

No comments