Album Streams
Listen to Full Streams of the Newest Albums
Expertly Curated by the CoS Staff

Stream: Phantogram’s new album Three

on October 07, 2016, 12:50pm

Today sees the release of Phantogram’s latest album, the aptly titled Three. It’s available on all the usual digital services; Spotify and Apple users can stream it in full below.

Three serves as the follow-up to 2014’s Voices. The band’s Sarah Barthel and Josh Carter wrote the record in New York and Atlanta — occasionally alongside the likes of the-Dream and Tricky Stewart — before recording it in Los Angeles. The content focuses on heavier subjects, including the death of Barthel’s sister, and more abstract losses like those of David Bowie and Prince.

“It was just very surreal and strange, when Bowie passed away. Becky, Sarah’s sister, passed away a couple days after,” Carter explained in a Pitchfork interview. “A lot of the recurring theme in the music is all of our heroes are passing away. The idea that all of our heroes are gone—of everyone and everything being destroyed around us and we’re still standing, and we’re still pushing on, and we’re still moving forward. That’s also a lot of motivation for us to keep going and going and going, and that’s I think the main theme behind the album.”

In related news, Phantogram contributed a cover of Phil Collins’ “Take Me Home” to the new benefit compilation The Time Is Now.

Three Tracklist:
01. Funeral Pyre
02. Same Old Blues
03. You Don’t Get Me High Anymore
04. Cruel World
05. Barking Dog
06. You’re Mine
07. Answer
08. Run Run Blood
09. Destroyer
10. Calling All

No comments