Music Videos
The latest visual candy from your favorite artists

Swearin’s Allison Crutchfield announces debut solo album, shares “Dean’s Room” video — watch

on October 24, 2016, 11:05am

Photo by Jesse Riggins

Allison Crutchfield, known for her work in alternative/pop punk acts Swearin’ and P.S. Eliot, is prepping her debut solo album. Titled Tourist in This Town, it’s slated for a January 27th release through Merge Records.

The 10-track collection was recorded at Uniform Recording in Philadelphia alongside studio wizard Jeff Ziegler (The War on Drugs, Kurt Vile, Steve Gunn), who opened up his vast synthesizer stockpile to Crutchfield. “This record marked a sonic transition in the way I think about the element of space in music, and I attribute that mainly to Jeff,” she said in a statement. “His arsenal and knowledge of analog synths, along with his ear for spatial addition and subtraction within a song, really sculpted this album and impacted me artistically forever.”

In terms of subject matter, Crutchfield says Tourist in This Town is “completely made up of heightened anxiety and became a clearly defined puzzle that I slowly put together over the course of a year.” She added, “It’s a record about change — change of scenery, of partner, of band, of home, of friends, of outlook — and how that change can cause a temporary panic but ultimate triumph in most of us.”

As a first look at the LP, Crutchfield has let loose an upbeat, synth-speckled new song called “Dean’s Room”. Check it out above via its accompanying music video, directed by Lara Jean Gallagher.

Tourist in This Town Artwork:

crutchfield album Swearins Allison Crutchfield announces debut solo album, shares Deans Room video    watch

Tourist in This Town Tracklist:
01. Broad Daylight
02. I Don’t Ever Wanna Leave California
03. Charlie
04. Dean’s Room
05. Sightseeing
06. Expatriate
07. Mile Away
08. The Marriage
09. Secret Lives and Deaths
10. Chopsticks on Pots and Pans

No comments