Entertainment News
The No. 1 Source For Breaking Music, Film, and TV Headlines

Grandaddy reveal new sprightly synth track “Evermore” — listen

on January 13, 2017, 12:26pm

March 3rd marks the release of Last Place, the new album from Grandaddy. The 12-track collection is the highly anticipated follow-up to 2006’s Just Like the Fambly Cat and is being teased today with a buzzy, synth-driven selection “Evermore”.

According to frontman Jason Lytle, the song was created using the looping synth line as the foundation, an arrangement he’d been sitting on for years. “From an early age, way before I ever dreamt of writing a song, I became fascinated by the idea of making a tune that revolves around a constant sound,” he told NPR, elaborating:

“My first memory of this was being a kid and trying to watch cartoons or Sesame Street or whatever while my mom was vacuuming in the room. Ever the restless multi-tasker, I would hum songs and come up with melodies that revolved around the sound of the vacuum while impatiently waiting for her to finish her noisy chore. I continued doing this with other appliances, motors, or things that made noise throughout the years. Eventually it found its way into my own compositions. The repeating synth sequence here was a good excuse to try and build a song around repetition.”

Stream the track down below.

For more of Last Place, check out “Way We Won’t”, “A Lost Machine”, and “Clear Your History”.

Last Place Tracklist:
01. Way We Won’t
02. Brush with the Wild
03. Evermore
04. Oh She Deleter ????
05. The Boat is in the Barn
06. Chek Injin
07. I Don’t Wanna Live Here Anymore
08. That’s What You Get for Gettin’ Outta Bed
09. This is the Part
10. Jed the 4th
11. A Lost Machine
12. Songbird Son