Entertainment News
The No. 1 Source For Breaking Music, Film, and TV Headlines

The Orwells let loose video for new song “Black Francis” — watch

on January 12, 2017, 11:10am


The Orwells will issue a new album called Terrible Human Beings next month. The follow-up to 2014’s well-received Disgraceland spans 13 tracks and marks their third full-length overall. Today, as a preview, the Illinois rockers have broken off a bouncy cut titled “Black Francis”, an ode to The Pixies’ Frank Black.

“Felt long overdue that we paid him some direct respect,” guitarist Matt O’Keefe explained in a press release. “We’ve been ripping him off for years, hopefully this chips away at the massive debt we’ve got to him.”

The accompanying visual for “Black Francis” has also been revealed, and it takes its inspiration from another veteran in the entertainment biz: Spike Lee. Matt’s brother Eddie directed the clip, saying he aimed to “channel a sort of nineties hip-hop energy; something that could compliment the track’s Beastie Boys-like cadence.” He added:

“In an effort to achieve that feeling, we drew inspiration from Spike Lee, using the opening-title dance sequence from Do The Right Thing and his infamous floating subject shots as the foundation of our shoot.”

Check it out above. Terrible Human Beings hits stores February 17th on Canvasback Music.

Terrible Human Beings Tracklist:
01. They Put a Body In the Bayou
02. Fry
03. Creatures
04. Vacation
05. Black Francis
06. M.A.D.
07. Buddy
08. Hippie Soldier
09. Heavy Head
10. Body Reprise
11. Ring Pop
12. Last Call
13. Double Feature

No comments