Album Streams
Listen to Full Streams of the Newest Albums
Expertly Curated by the CoS Staff

Sampha releases debut album Process: Stream/download

on February 02, 2017, 11:45pm

Photo by Philip Cosores

Today marks the release of Sampha’s full-length debut album, Process. Spotify and Apple Music subscribers can stream the entire thing below.

Process follows the London crooner’s 2013 Dual EP as well as a handful of high-profile collaborations, including 2016 tracks alongside Kanye West, Solange, and Frank Ocean. It was self-produced by Sampha, with additional help from Rodaidh McDonald, known for his work with fellow British acts The xx, Låpsley, and King Krule.

(Read: The 50 Most Anticipated Albums of 2017)

The Young Turks effort, which features early singles “Timmy’s Prayer”“Blood On Me”, and “(No One Knows Me) Like the Piano”, was written during a time in which Sampha’s mother fell ill and passed away. He explained further in an interview with Exclaim:

“My mother passed away while I was making the album, and by the time I finished it, she was gone. When I realized I wouldn’t be able to talk about something, I’d go to the piano and sing, and all this emotion would come out; I could suddenly feel it. In my day-to-day, I think my brain would hide things away, because it can’t handle or process so much emotion simultaneously, so for me it was that: processing grief, processing the importance of talking things through — not necessarily getting things perfect.”

Purchase Process here. Sampha will serve as opener on The xx’s upcoming North American tour.

Additionally, Sampha will issue a companion film to the album next month. Also dubbed Process, the Kahlil Joseph-directed visual is being teaser with a short trailer seen below.

Process Artwork:

sampha process album stream download listen Sampha releases debut album Process: Stream/download

Process Tracklist:
01. Plastic 100°C
02. Blood On Me
03. Kora Sings
04. (No One Knows Me) Like The Piano
05. Take Me Inside
06. Reverse Faults
07. Under
08. Timmy’s Prayer
09. Incomplete Kisses
10. What Shouldn’t I Be?

No comments