Album Streams
Listen to Full Streams of the Newest Albums
Expertly Curated by the CoS Staff

Fleet Foxes return with first album in six years, Crack-Up: Stream

on June 08, 2017, 8:40am

After six years of waiting, Fleet Foxes are finally back. They’ll release their new album, Crack-Up, next week via Nonesuch Records. Ahead of its official due date, it’s streaming in full at NPR. Update: It’s also streaming below via Apple Music and Spotify.

The 11-track effort marks Robin Pecknold & co.’s first full-length release since 2011’s Helplessness Blues. While the band was on hiatus, Pecknold enrolled as an undergrad at Columbia University in New York. Though he spent plenty of time writing about music during his studies, when it came to actual songwriting “things were out of alignment,” he told Rolling Stone. “If the spark had hit, I would have given up going to school. I didn’t need to be there for three years. If it had been two semesters and I felt I had the songs, I’d have left. But that just didn’t happen, so I kept enrolling, semester to semester.”

The spark reignited in July 2016, and thus was born Crack-Up. In his review of the album, Consequence of Sound’s own David Sackllah notes that the album reflects Pecknold’s “own personal journey over the past half-decade, ending by reaching the clarity he had been searching for.” The result is an album that “focuses on the long road of strife preceding [celebration.] Challenging throughout and at times jarring and inscrutable, Crack-Up searches for a resolution just out of reach.”

Singles “Third of May/Ōdaigahara”“Fool’s Errand”, and “If You Need To, Keep Time on Me” preceded the album, which you can hear in its entirety at NPR. You also hear the new music when Fleet Foxes take to the road this summer, making stops at Rhode Island’s Newport Folk Festival, San Francisco’s Outside Lands, and NOS Alive in Portugal, among other festivals. Find their complete itinerary here.

Crack-Up Artwork:

fleet foxes crack up cover Fleet Foxes return with first album in six years, Crack Up: Stream

Crack-Up Tracklist:
01. I Am All That I Need / Arroyo Seco / Thumbprint Scar
02. Cassius, –
03. – Naiads, Cassadies
04. Kept Woman
05. Third of May / Ōdaigahara
06. If You Need To, Keep Time on Me
07. Mearcstapa
08. On Another Ocean (January / June)
09. Fool’s Errand
10. I Should See Memphis
11. Crack-Up

No comments