Entertainment News
The No. 1 Source For Breaking Music, Film, and TV Headlines

Oneohtrix Point Never teams with Iggy Pop for new single “The Pure and the Damned” — listen

on June 08, 2017, 11:22am

Photos by​ ​Tim Saccenti and Ross Halfin

​​Oneohtrix Point Never is officially an award-winning film composer. Under his real name, Daniel Lopatin, he received the Cannes Soundtrack Award at this year’s film festival for his work on Good Time, a crime thriller directed by Josh and Benny Safdie and starring Robert Pattinson and Jennifer Jason Leigh. Now, the acclaimed OST is set for a home release on August 11th via Warp Records.

For those who weren’t able to attend the Cannes premiere of Good Time, Lopatin has today shared the film’s closing theme. Entitled “The Pure and the Damned”, the track features vocals from Iggy Pop. In his trademark rasp, Pop half sings and half speaks throughout the weighty, melancholy track. “Every day I think of untwisting and untangling these strings I’m in,” he says at one point, “to lead a pure life. Look ahead at a clear sky. Ain’t gonna get there. But it’s a nice dream. It’s a nice dream.” Take a listen below.

Speaking of working with Lopatin, Josh Safdie said in a press release,

“About eight years ago, we were turned onto the music of Oneohtrix Point Never. I had always imagined Dan’s work, especially his earlier work, as soundtracks to movies that never existed. From our collaboration on Good Time, and through the twisted dialogue that surrounded it, we have gained a deep friendship and of course a fluorescent extra-terrestrial score. We set forth on that concept with Dan well before production and to hear it boom throughout Cannes… well it seemed like some sort of high-resolution fantasy.”

Pre-orders for the Good Time OST are going on here.

Good Time Album Art:

unnamed 21 Oneohtrix Point Never teams with Iggy Pop for new single The Pure and the Damned    listen

Good Time Tracklist:
01. Good Time
02. Bail Bonds
03. 6th Floor
04. Hospital Escape / Access-A-Ride
05. Ray Wakes Up
06. Entry To White Castle
07. Flashback
08. Adventurers
09. Romance Apocalypse
10. The Acid Hits
11. Leaving The Park
12. Connie
13. The Pure and the Damned (feat. Iggy Pop)

Watch a trailer for Good Time soundtracked by “The Pure and the Damned”:

No comments