New Music Releases
The Best New Music in Rock, Alternative, Hip-Hop, and More
Expertly Curated by the CoS Staff

Mark Kozelek details new collaborative album, sings from the point of view of a “House Cat” on new song: Listen

on July 17, 2017, 11:15am

Mark Kozelek already has three (!) albums under his belt this year and it’s not even August. Previously, the prolific songwriter released his collaborative album with Jesu, 30 Seconds to the Decline of Planet Earth, the solo Sun Kil Moon record Common As Light And Love Are Red Valleys of Blood, and most recently, Yellow Kitchen, a joint LP with Parquet Courts bassist Sean Yeaton. Believe it or not, a fourth record is on the way from Kozelek, this time featuring the contributions of Ben Boye (Will Oldham) and Jim White (Dirty Three).

Simply titled Mark Kozelek with Ben Boye and Jim White, it’s due out October 6th through Kozelek’s own Caldo Verde Records. The album was recorded and mixed in San Francisco from February through June 2017. As a teaser of the 10-track effort, the collaborative three-piece has shared “House Cat”, a song in which Kozelek speaks from the point of view of — you guessed it — a house cat. He talks about looking for birds, basking in the sun, meowing, and also comments on the “bullshit” of his human owners. Listen in here.

Mark Kozelek with Ben Boye and Jim White Tracklist:
01. House Cat
02. Topo Gigio
03. Fur Balls
04. Los Margaritos
05. Astronomy
06. Blood Test
07. Ashes
08. February Rain
09. The Black Butterfly
10. The Robin Williams Tunnel