New Music
The Best New Music in Rock, Alternative, Hip-Hop, and More
Expertly Curated by the CoS Staff

Kelela announces debut album, Take Me Apart, shares lead single, “LMK”: Stream

on August 01, 2017, 2:35pm

On October 6th, Kelela will release her long-awaited debut album. It’s titled Take Me Apart and due out through Warp Records.

The forthcoming studio effort follows her 2014 EP, Hallucinogen, and her 2013 breakthrough mixtape, Cut 4 Me. It also comes after her recent contribution to Gorillaz’s latest LP, Humanz.

Altogether, Take Me Apart collects 14 tracks which express “an honest vision of how we navigate dissolving ties with each other and yet remain sanguine for the next chance at love.” However, there’s also so much more at the core of the LP than just an examination of love and relationships, according to the R&B artist. “Despite it being a personal record, the politics of my identity informs how it sounds and how I choose to articulate my vulnerability and strength,” Kelela explained in a press release. “I am a black woman, a second-generation Ethiopian-American, who grew up in the ‘burbs listening to R&B, Jazz and Björk. All of it comes out in one way or another.”

To preview Take Me Apart, Kelela has shared lead single “LMK”. Produced by Kanye West and FKA twigs associate Arca, it couples dark, lurking synths with the nonstop pulse of a late-night club. Hear it down below.

Take Me Apart Artwork:

kelela take me apart album debut new Kelela announces debut album, Take Me Apart, shares lead single, LMK: Stream

Take Me Apart Tracklist:
01. Frontline
02. Waitin
03. Take Me Apart
04. Enough
05. Jupiter
06. Better
07. LMK
08. Truth Or Dare
09. S.O.S.
10. Blue Light
11. Onanon
12. Turn To Dust
13. Bluff
14. Altadena

No comments