Entertainment News
The No. 1 Source For Breaking Music, Film, and TV Headlines

Gorillaz detail new album The Now Now: Artwork, tracklist, guest contributors

on May 31, 2018, 12:45pm

After a weekend full of teases, Gorillaz have formally announced the release of their sixth studio album. Entitled The Now Now, the 11-track effort is due out June 29th through Warner Bros. Records.

The album was produced by Simian Mobile Disco’s James Ford, who most recently worked with Arctic Monkeys on Tranquility Base Hotel & Casino. Unlike its guest-heavy predecessor, last year’s Humanz, The Now Now features only three additional contributors: George Benson, Jamie Principle, and Snoop Dogg, the latter two guesting on “Hollywood”. Recording took place at London’s Studio 13 in February.

Albarn described The Now Now as a “summer record” which mostly focuses on his own singing. “I thought I should make a record where I’m just singing for once,” he explained. “It’s pretty much just me singing, very sort of in the world of 2-D… I feel really good about it. I feel really really good about it.”

To preview the release, Gorillaz have shared “Humility” featuring George Benson (which is accompanied by a Jack Black-starring video) and “Lake Zurich”. Check out both here.

In support of The Now Now, Gorillaz will embark on a North American arena tour beginning in October.

The Now Now Artwork:

Gorillaz The Now Now Artwork

The Now Now Tracklist:
01. Humility (feat. George Benson)
02. Tranz
03. Hollywood (feat. Snoop Dogg and Jamie Principle)
04. Kansas
05. Sorcererz
06. Idaho
07. Lake Zurich
08. Magic City
09. Fire Flies
10. One Percent
11. Souk Eye

No comments