Heavy Consequence Entertainment News
The No. 1 Source For Breaking Music, Film, and TV Headlines

Overkill to return with new album The Wings of War

on November 28, 2018, 1:49pm

Thrash metal legends Overkill keep going strong nearly 40 years into their career, as they’ll release their 19th studio album, The Wings of War, on February 22nd, via Nuclear Blast Records.

The album contains 10 tracks, and was produced by the band itself, with bassist D.D. Verni and guitarist Dave Linsk serving as engineers. Chris “Zeuss” Harris handled the mixing and mastering.

Frontman Bobby “Blitz” Ellsworth remarked, “It was a blast making The Wings of War! It is something old feeling new again, as our chemistry was altered by the addition of Jason Bittner. I was curious from the get-go, how would it pan out? I think what we accomplished here is a new, upgraded Overkill that embraced the new chemistry, while taking our roots into the present.

He added, “The new formula produced not only more raw power, but more places to go with melody, a win, win. The key is being not only interested in the change, but part of it. I’ll tell you what, it’s still fun as hell making Overkill records.”

The new disc follows the New Jersey band’s 2017 album, The Grinding Wheel. View the artwork and tracklist for The Wings of War below.

The Wings of War Artwork:

Overkill - The Wings Of War

The Wings of War Tracklist:
01. Last Man Standing
02. Believe In The Fight
03. Head Of A Pin
04. Bat Shit Crazy
05. Distortion
06. A Mother’s Prayer
07. Welcome To The Garden State
08. Where Few Dare To Walk
09. Out On The Road-Kill
10. Hole In My Soul

No comments