New Music Releases
The Best New Music in Rock, Alternative, Hip-Hop, and More
Expertly Curated by the CoS Staff

Frightened Rabbit announce The Midnight Organ Fight tribute LP: Aaron Dessner, Lauren Mayberry, Julien Baker contribute

on June 18, 2019, 12:45pm

It’s been just over a year since Frightened Rabbit frontman Scott Hutchison was found dead in Scotland, but his music lives on. Now, to celebrate the 10th anniversary of the band’s landmark The Midnight Organ Fight LP, Canvasback Music/Atlantic have announced a tribute album dubbed, Tiny Changes – A Celebration of The Midnight Organ Fight.

Due out July 12th, Tiny Changes features all 14 tracks on Frightened Rabbit’s original Midnight Organ Fight covered by artists who were close to Hutchison or had meaningful connections to his music. Standout tracks “The Modern Leper”, “The Twist”, and “My Backwards Walk” each received an additional rendition, bringing the total track total to 17.

Contributing artists include The National’s Aaron Dessner and CHVRCHES’ Lauren Mayberry (“Who’d You Kill Now”), The Hold Steady’s Craig Finn (“Heads Roll Off”), Josh Ritter (“Old Old Fashioned”), Manchester Orchestra (“My Backwards Walk”), The Twilight Sad (“Floating in the Forth”), Julien Baker (“The Modern Leper”), Death Cab for Cutie’s Benjamin Gibbard (“Keep Yourself Warm”), and others. Sarah Silverman also makes an appearance alongside English musician Katie Harkin (Sky Larkin, Courtney Barnett, Sleater-Kinney).

(Read: In Photos: Julien Baker, Ben Gibbard, Craig Finn Pay Tribute to Scott Hutchison at Brooklyn’s Rough Trade)

In a statement posted to Instagram, the surviving members of Frightened Rabbit revealed that Hutchison was heavily involved in putting Tiny Changes together. They said,

“Scott was a vital part of bringing this album together and it’s something he was very excited about and worked hard to bring to life. He listened to and approved every track on there with us and he had already started preparing the artwork which you’ll see on there (if you buy it). This is a celebration of a record that connected thousands of people to Scott and connected thousands of people to each other and ten years on it is still managing to do it.”

Pre-orders for Tiny Changes – A Celebration of The Midnight Organ Fight are going on now. A portion of proceeds will go towards the Tiny Changes mental health charity launched back in May in Hutchison’s honor. The organization raises awareness and provides support for young people dealing with mental health issues.

Those who purchase early get instagrat downloads of Baker and Biffy Clyro’s versions of “The Modern Leper”, both of which can be heard below.

Find Frightened Rabbit’s complete statement on the release below, followed by the full Tiny Changes tracklist below.

Tiny Changes – A Celebration of The Midnight Organ Fight Tracklist:
01. The Modern Leper – Biffy Clyro
02. I Feel Better – Oxford Collapse
03. Good Arms vs Bad Arms – Fiskur
04. Fast Blood – Right On Dynamite
05. Old Old Fashioned – Josh Ritter
06. The Twist – Wintersleep
07. Bright Pink Bookmark – Peter Katis
08. Head Rolls Off – Craig Finn
09. My Backwards Walk – Katie Harkin & Sarah Silverman
10. Keep Yourself Warm – Benjamin Gibbard
11. Extrasupervery – Jeff Zeigler
12. Poke – Daughter
13. Floating In The Forth – The Twilight Sad
14. Who’d You Kill Now – Aaron Dessner & Lauren Mayberry
15. The Modern Leper – Julien Baker
16. The Twist – Piano Bar Fight
17. My Backwards Walk – Manchester Orchestra

Below, revisit the Scott Hutchison tribute episode of Kyle Meredith With…, which features three archival interviews with the late Frightened Rabbit singer-songwriter.

Listen via Apple Podcasts | Spotify | Google Play | Stitcher | Radio Public | RSS