Album Streams
Listen to Full Streams of the Newest Albums
Expertly Curated by the CoS Staff

The Flaming Lips give wide-release to new concept album King’s Mouth: Stream

on July 19, 2019, 12:00am

The Flaming Lips have today given wide release to their new album, King’s Mouth. Previously only available as a Record Store Day vinyl limited to 4,000 pressings, the whole thing is now streamable below via Apple Music and Spotify

The 11-track concept album features narration from The Clash’s Mick Jones, who tells the tale of a community in mourning after the noble death of a benevolent monarch. The piece is one component of a three-part project that includes an art installation (which was previously on display at New York’s Rough Trade) and a book called King’s Mouth: Immerse Heap Trip Fantasy Experience written and drawn by frontman Wayne Coyne.

(Read: Wayne Coyne Breaks Down The Flaming Lips’ Catalog)

In his review of the record, Consequence of Sound’s David Sackllah said,

“Ever since 2009’s Embryonic, The Flaming Lips have descended into creating more abstract psychedelia, swirling and progressively hazier with each release. On King’s Mouth, they return to the mid-2000s with a gentler, more fantastical collection of songs full of bright melodies and heartfelt lyrics, reminiscent of Yoshimi in more ways than one. Hearing Coyne sing clearly over acoustic strumming on ‘The Sparrow’ feels like a warm reminder of the childlike wonder they conjured on earlier releases, a feeling they manage to capture at times throughout.”

King’s Mouth was previewed with the tracks “All for the Life of the City” and “Giant Baby”. Stream the full record below. You can also catch The Flaming Lips on tour this summer with The Claypool Lennon Delirium; get tickets here.

King’s Mouth Artwork:

Flaming Lips Kings Mouth The Flaming Lips give wide release to new concept album King’s Mouth: Stream

King’s Mouth Tracklist:
01. We Don’t Know How And We Don’t Know Why
02. The Sparrow
03. Giant Baby
04. Mother Universe
05. How Many Times
06. Electric Fire
07. All For The Life Of The City
08. Feedaloodum Beedle Dot
09. Funeral Parade
10. Dipped In Steel
11. Mouth Of The King
12. How Can A Head

Below, revisit Coyne’s 2018 appearance on This Must Be the Gig.

Listen and subscribe via iTunes | Google Play | Stitcher | RSS