Album Streams
Listen to Full Streams of the Newest Albums
Expertly Curated by the CoS Staff

The Stooges’ self-titled debut receives digital reissue with unreleased John Cale mix: Stream

on November 08, 2019, 12:02pm

To mark the 50th anniversary of The Stooges’ self-titled debut, Rhino Records has released a digital Super Deluxe Edition featuring studio outtakes and alternate tracks never-before-available digitally, plus John Cale’s rejected mix of the full album, which is being released at the correct speed for the first time.

Cale’s original mix of the album remained unreleased until 2010 when it appeared on a 40th anniversary reissue. However, that mix was “mastered at a slower speed than originally intended,” according to a press release. “That speed discrepancy has been corrected on the 50th Anniversary Super Deluxe Edition, making it faithful to Cale’s original mixes. Four of those mixes – ‘Not Right’, ‘We Will Fall’, ‘Real Cool Time’, and ‘Ann’ – will make their digital debut this month as part of the release.”

Take a listen to the 50th Anniversary Super Deluxe Edition below. Earlier this year, Iggy Pop released his 18th solo album, Free, and admitted to smoking spider webs to get high.

The Stooges: 50th Anniversary Super Deluxe Edition Tracklist:
01. 1969
02. I Wanna Be Your Dog
03. We Will Fall
04. No Fun
05. Real Cool Time
06. Ann
07. Not Right
08. Little Doll
09. 1969 – Original John Cale Mix
10. Not Right – Original John Cale Mix *
11. We Will Fall – Original John Cale Mix *
12. No Fun – Original John Cale Mix
13. Real Cool Time – Original John Cale Mix *
14. Ann – Original John Cale Mix *
15. Little Doll – Original John Cale Mix
16. I Wanna Be Your Dog – Original John Cale Mix
17. 1969 – Alternate Vocal
18. Real Cool Time – Takes 1 & 2
19. Not Right – Alternate Vocal
20. Ann – Full Version
21. I Wanna Be Your Dog – Alternate Vocal
22. No Fun – Full Version
23. Little Doll – Takes 1-5 *
24. We Will Fall – Alternate Version *
25. Asthma Attack
26. I Wanna Be Your Dog – Single Version *

* = previously unavailable digitally