Entertainment News
The No. 1 Source For Breaking Music, Film, and TV Headlines

Jhené Aiko Announces New Album Chilombo [Updated]

on February 26, 2020, 3:52pm

Jhené Aiko has announced the release date for her forthcoming new album, Chilombo — and it’s just a week away. The follow-up to 2017’s Trip is set for a March 6th debut via Def Jam Recordings. In anticipation of the LP, Aiko has shared the effort’s latest single, “P*$$y Fairy (OTW)”.

The LP’s title comes from R&B singer’s full name — Jhené Aiko Efuru Chilombo — and is a word that means “wild beast.” Fittingly, Aiko took inspiration for the album from the wildest beast in nature, the volcanoes of The Big Island of Hawaii. She first jammed out the songs in the tropical paradise, freestyling the lyrics as she went. In addition, she added crystal alchemy singing bowls to each track, a subtle way to introduce the concept of sound healing into her music.

Early previews of the record included “Triggered (Freestyle)” and “None of Your Concern”, both released last year. As a final advanced single, Aiko recently dropped “P*$$y Fairy (OTW)”. A sensual ode to sex, the song comes with a simple dance video the calls back to classic R&B clips of the ’90s. Watch it below.

Update: Aiko has revealed the album’s 20-song tracklist. Guest contributors include Nas, Future, Miguel, John Legend, and Ab-Soul.

Aiko is set to appear at the (confusingly announced) Lovers & Friends Festival as well as Hangout Music Festival. Get tickets to all her upcoming dates here.

Chilombo Artwork:

Jhene Aiko Chilombo album cover artwork

Chilombo Artwork:
01. Lotus (intro)
02. Triggered (freestyle)
03. None of Your Concern (feat. Big Sean)
04. Speak
05. B.S. (feat. H.E.R.)
06. P*$$y Fairy (OTW)
07. Happiness Over Everything (H.O.E.) (feat. Future and Miguel)
08. One Way St. (feat. Ab-Soul)
09. Define Me (interlude)
10. Surrender (feat. Dr. Chill)
11. Tryna Smoke
12. Born Tired
13. LOVE
14. 10 Hours (feat. Nas)
15. Summer 2020 (interlude)
16. Mourning Doves
17. Pray For You
18. Lighting & Thunder (feat. John Legend)
19. Magic Hour
20. Party For Me (feat. Ty Dolla $ign)