Entertainment News
The No. 1 Source For Breaking Music, Film, and TV Headlines

Green Day’s Billie Joe Armstrong Announces New Solo Covers Album No Fun Mondays

on October 06, 2020, 1:40pm

To help pass the time during lockdown, Green Day frontman Billie Joe Armstrong launched a weekly cover series called “No Fun Mondays”. Now, all of those recordings are being collected on a proper full-length album of the same name.

Due out November 27th via Reprise/Warner Records, No Fun Mondays features Armstrong’s takes on The Bangles (“Manic Monday”), Tommy James and the Shondelles (“I Think We’re Alone Now”), and the late Adam Schlesinger (“That Thing You Do!”). The punk rocker also puts his own spin on John Lennon’s “Gimme Some Truth” and “Police on My Back” by The Clash.

“While we’ve all been in quarantine I’ve been reflecting on the things that matter the most in my life: family, friends, and, of course, music,” Armstrong remarked in a statement. “I figure if we have to spend this time in isolation at least we can be alone together.”

Check out “That Thing You Do!” down below, followed by the album’s artwork and full tracklist. Pre-orders for No Fun Mondays have already begun.

Green Day dropped their latest album, Father of All Motherfuckers, back in February. Their massive “Hella Mega Tour” with Fall Out Boy and Weezer, originally scheduled for this year, will instead launch Summer 2021. Grab your concert tickets here.

No Fun Mondays Artwork:

billie joe armstrong no fun mondays album cover art Green Days Billie Joe Armstrong Announces New Solo Covers Album No Fun Mondays

No Fun Mondays Tracklist:
01. I Think We’re Alone Now
02. War Stories
03. Manic Monday
04. Corpus Christi
05. That Thing You Do!
06. Amico
07. You Can’t Put Your Arms Round a Memory
08. Kids in America
09. Not That Way Anymore
10. That’s Some Rock ‘N’ Roll
11. Gimme Some Truth
12. Whole Wide World
13. Police on My Back
14. A New England