Syd Arthur – Sound Mirror

On their 2012 debut album, On An On, the Canterbury four-piece flaunted their love for all things psychedelic and progressive rock. Almost too much, in fact. The band — comprised of Liam Magill (vocals, guitar), brother Joel (bass, vocals), Raven Bush (violin, keyboard, mandolin), and Fred Rother (drums) — stretched to a near breaking point, their sheer desire to cram in everything from ’60s psychedelia, blues rock, jazz fusion, folk, and more ultimately served as the LP’s Achilles heel. That’s not to take away from Syd Arthur’s technical ability or taste. Rather, their music, a worldly and dynamic blend encompassing Jethro Tull and Janis Joplin as much as Radiohead and The Mars Volta, simply didn’t translate as well as it could due to overly ambitious execution.

Release Date
May 20, 2014
Harvest Records
digital, vinyl, cd
Read our review Buy it on amazon